SF Street Food Festival

The 4th Annual SF Street Food Fest was yesterday in the Mission. It is a tasty fundraiser for La Cocina. Nicasio and I had a great time last year. This year I went on my own, sent to represent Nicasio and the several other friends who could not make it for various reasons.

My strategy is to try new places, that I don’t normally have access to. So while I know there were booths representing some delicious favorites that now have storefronts, or regular pop-ups (Wise Sons Deli, Hapa Ramen) I skipped them to explore new tastes from places that are just getting started.

I present images of the booths and the food the came out of it in the order it was consumed!

Hey kids, here’s what you missed!

Empanadas: 1 with black beans, corn, salsa, etc. and 1 with banana and chocolate.

Slow-roasted pork banh mi and root slaw.

So having had eaten more than a complete lunch at this point I am full. But I know it is my duty to press on!

Chicken mole on a croissant.

Strawberry basil lemonade and jambalaya!

I was very full at this point but I wanted a sweet and I thought some coffee help it all go down. Blue Bottle to the rescue! Here’s my exception to skipping the foods I can get anytime. Blue Bottle coffee is the best!

Saffron snickerdoodle and a hand-drip coffee.

Finally I got a treat to go. I forgot to take a picture of her cart, but this comes from Yvonne’s Southern Sweets. I had it for breakfast this morning.

Individual-sized sweet potato pie.

I ate way to much and felt like I could just use my giant belly to roll myself home, but I think I did my duty for everyone I was representing. Plus it was tasty.

See you next year SF Street Food Festival!

Categories: City | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “SF Street Food Festival

  1. Grandma

    Everything looks delicious! You did of good job of representing! Sounds like fun. We don’t have food carts in these parts.

  2. I am seriously jealous! I’m eating double next year.

  3. Marcie

    I am so jealous, we don’t have Bahn Mi, or Empanadas, or even Jambalaya anytime in Lake County. . .

  4. Erica Lipska

    Everything looks so good!

  5. Hey Kirstin,
    You’ve got a lot of great content on here about the city and your different passions. I’m working for a new start-up called HeyLets and we’re trying to get people excited about doing what you do. We want our users to rediscover their city through mini-recommendations from people with similar interests and hopefully pay it forward. I was wondering, would you be interested in sharing some of your positive experiences in your community with us?
    Drop me a line if you’re interested in more info: adam@heylets.com
    Thanks for your time and keep up the good work!
    -Adam

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

